Graduate Awards

In continuing our commitment to supporting the professional development of visual artists and the creation of new work, Fire Station is offering two awards to four recent Fine Art college graduates (TU Dublin and NCAD). 

Sculpture Workshop and Digital Media Graduate Awards

September 2021- July 2022

Congratulations to this year's FSAS Graduate Awardees in Sculpture: Natasha Cully (TU Dublin) and Oliver Ryan (NCAD) and in Digital Media: Aifric Prior Beliere (TU Dublin) and Jos Fullam (NCAD)

Through partnering with TU Dublin and NCAD FSAS aims to support recent fine art graduates at a critical and often difficult transition point at the start of their careers on leaving the supported environment of third level education. By providing free access to working space and equipment as well as technical support, curatorial advice and small bursaries, FSAS aims to support the development of graduate artists in their careers as professional visual artists. 



Natasha Cully is a recent graduate of Fine Art from TU Dublin. She makes woven sculptures that explore ideas of biomimicry, adaptability, self-sufficiency, and resourcefulness. She is interested in how humans inhabit the world and their relationships with materials, especially with reference to pollution and to traditional craft. Natasha’s practice involves weaving together found or discarded materials. By weaving these materials together, they intermingle and overlap, transforming dormant material into a sculpture that correlates with both the form of a bird's nest and of a woven basket.
Jos Fullam is a visual artist based in Dublin, and recent graduate of NCAD Sculpture. Seeing themselves as primarily a storyteller, their practice is guided by a desire to create allegorical narratives, which carry with them the potential of relatability. Their multi-disciplinary practice incorporates performance, 3D and digital workflows, and outsourced production as world building devices. Their visual language is deliberate in its fascination with glib, ostentatious imagery - using it as a means to saunter aimlessly around the boundary between empathy and alienation.

Image caption: Aifric Prior Beliere  Film still, AKUMA, 2021. Single channel video
Aifric Prior Beliere (b.1997) is a multi-disciplinary artist who recently graduated from Technological University Dublin with a First Class Honours Degree in Fine Art.  A focus on the intra-actions that constitute both subjective and common experiences informs her project-based practice. Her work explores the relationships and enactments between materials, narratives and knowledges. Recent exhibitions include Space Holding Place Corona Concept Gallery (2020); TUD Graduate Exhibition (2021). She has an upcoming solo exhibition in A4 Sounds Studios (2021). 

Oli Ryan is an artist, composer and performer based in Dublin. His sculptural work includes objects and instruments responding to situations and context, or inviting viewer participation using metal, wood, glass, electronics and mixed media outcomes. He has written music for film, theatre and circus, often creating unique sound processes to do so and has worked with video and performance in experimental music and expanded cinema contexts in Ireland and abroad, both within the gallery environment and outside of it. Much of his work reflects on the irreverence and absurdity of life through humour and/or grim existentialism.


Last year, FSAS 2020 Graduate Awards went to Mae Nicolaou (Sculpture) and Nadia Armstrong (Digital Media) from NCAD and to Maria Maarbjerg (Digital Media), and Michelle Malone (Sculpture) from TU Dublin.