Community Studio Award 2002-2009

This highly successful and innovative award was initiated by the Fire Station in 2001, with the aim of supporting professional visual artists whose work is participatory and which pushes boundaries in terms of innovative engagement with communities of place and interest.

Previous award winners are Natasha Fischell, Ciara O Malley, David Jacques , Rhona Byrne, Christine Mackey and ‘The Third Person’ which consists of UK artists Oliver Flexman and Steven Dickie.

In 2008 Polish artist Artur Zmijewski was invited to research and develop a project for Dublin looking at idea of national identity in light of high Polish immigration trends to Ireland in recent years. Zmijewksi is currently developing a project with Irish and Polish unemployed workers 2008/9.

Artur Zmijewski is an artist of international standing who has exhibited widely internationally. His recent work ‘Them’ (2007) was shown in Documenta 12 and he represented Poland in the Venice Biennale 2005 with ‘Repetition’ (2005). A graduate of the Sculpture Faculty at the Warsaw Art Academy (1990–1995) he studied in the studio of Professor Grzegorz Kowalski. Zmijewski’s ‘social documentary’ type films, frequently examine mechanisms of power and oppression within the existing social order, as well as exposing social conflicts, trauma and human weakness. Born in Warsaw in 1966, he belongs to a generation of artists who have offered different responses to the complexities of the post – Communist condition.

For further information on projects completed during these residencies please go to past projects on our website. Here are some Frequently Asked Questions about the Awards in its past context.

We are currently reviewing international partnerships to develop this award and will not be advertising this award.